“Go, go, go shorty…” it’s my day!

lorena
3 min readMar 25, 2017

--

Something happened, that doesn’t usually happen, to me.

One time I told my sister that I wanted to be a model, laughing as I said it. I knew it was silly. Firstly, I am 5 foot 2… amongst other reasons as to why I would differentiate myself from “real models”… Well, like receiving a surprise birthday gift that you secretly had always been wanting, but yet felt like you’ve had to hold back your excitement towards, I have been given a very exciting, incredible, and fun opportunity here in Madrid. I get to be a model for day! And, even more incredible, I get to do this with some amazing artists.

Being careful not to miss the black steps that lead down to what appears to be somebody’s lovely, front patio –with it’s attractive large, green plants and garden chairs–, you’ll find a wonderfully refined and courteously welcoming beauty salon, where you will walk into an air that is intricately filled with an aura of true skill: Art Lab Salon. The salon has has been observed within “the top 4 luxury salons in Madrid” according to LWS, describing it as “a revolutionary place, a new concept”, and because of “their desire to combine the quality of services and care of nature”, the artists work with Aveda brand, since the brand strives “to set an example for environmental leadership and responsibility, not just in the word of beauty, but around the world.” Awesome. (See source links at the end!)

Well, with what seemed to be news that was “too good to be true”, sweet Esther, with Press and Communications at the salon, called to express to me that I had been chosen as the model for the shoot. I can’t believe it! I get to be a model for a day? Say what?! I had the widest, cheesiest smile walking into the metro after that phone call. How wild.

And today, I had the pleasure to meet some of the amazing team when I went in for some retouches they needed to do on my –extremely dried out and rather unpleasant– highlights. It was rather surreal to have hair colorist Victor Latorre (Madrid) and hair stylist Luciano De Paoli (Rome) thoughtfully explaining to me the “look” that Luciano is thoughtfully looking to execute for the shoot on Monday; and to have them carefully observe my hair as they spoke to each other in “hair artist lingo” (I came to find out my wide forehead and unruly hair served me well this time…); and to receive the full attention of their skillful eyes and vision as they revived my hair color to what they deemed best for me (as great beats –Kendrick Lamar and Bryson Tiller amongst them– added depth to the ambience and experience). Even more reason to give them my complete trust! Plus, I LOVE how the color turned out; they are genius.

I give Art Lab Salon the upmost thanks for this opportunity, and I am excited for Luciano’s hair cut and styling –as one of the top 3 hair stylists in Madrid–, along with the photoshoot of his masterful work on my new “look”, this Monday! Until then, I’ll just be singing “Go, go, go shorty…” and other songs to continue my self outlook and confidence at a healthy high!

~she>anxiety, appreciating each moment~

Take a look at the following links to find out more about these talented names in Spain and to source my citations:

--

--

lorena

Educator ~ Middlebury Spanish Program Grad ~ Bilingual ~ Language Lover ~ Thinker~ PNW ~ Lifelong Learner ~ Currently Deep in Thought